Waking Up at 3 Every Morning Made Me Super Productive–Until it Didn’t

It began with getting up at 5 a.m. That was the plan. Our baby would wake up at 6, and since I was the primary caretaker at home, I’d be able to get a sufficient amount of business done before then. I quickly learned that meant I didn’t shower unless he took a nap, so I started getting up at 4:30 a.m. Then I realized I couldn’t make morning tea or coffee unless I got up at 4:15 a.m., and that I had to refuse my steadily increasing workload unless I woke up at 4:00, then 3:15 a.m.

After several months, however, I realized that this should not-or rather, could not-be my default. My moods began swinging. My body began to ache.

I told myself that I’d keep at it for a year. As the 12th month arrived on the horizon, I hit the equivalent of a runner’s wall, and I limped to the finish line.

It was time for a change. I decided to look at my priorities. I started saying no to gigs, accepted that parts of my to-do list wouldn’t get done, and gave myself at least one alarm-free morning every week. The aches went away, my mind got clearer, and everything became more focused. The year following the experiment was even more productive, as I zeroed in on only the projects about which I was most passionate-simply because I didn’t have the time to do otherwise.

In the end, I left with some serious takeaways:

Sourced through Scoop.it from: www.inc.com

Waking up extremely early has strong benefits, but it definitely isn’t a silver bullet–and may push your chances of burnout and fatigue.

See on Scoop.itBusiness Brainpower with the Human Touch

Leave a Reply

